PDA

View Full Version : New and no nothing about trout fishing

c21broker
01-14-04, 08:52 PM
I am wanting to get a john (Jon whatever) and fish the hooch around azalea drive for openers. ANY suggestions about how to get started would be appreciated. I do fly fish (at least I did years ago for Bass and Bream)but I am really confused about all of these flies and so forth. Any knowledge about trout is more than I have now.

jiveinc
01-14-04, 10:31 PM
Welcome. I'm also a new member. I'm not new to trout fishing but I am new to fly fishing. From what I've seen so far a must have is a book by Jimmy Jacobs. Its title, "Trout Fising In North GA," the third edition. I ordered a copy and it arrived today. So far its been very informative!

c21broker
01-14-04, 11:05 PM
Thanks, I will try that

Fire Walker
01-15-04, 10:19 AM
Welcome aboard Broker! As far as getting started goes the basics will suffice. Shoot me an email and I will be more than happy to put together a starter list and some of the Hydro Groups proven patterns. Welcome, Luke Mullins

Josh Barnett
01-15-04, 06:30 PM
Welcome...

We, at North Georgia Trout Online, are happy to have you here. As always, we are ready to listen, learn, and hopefully teach.

Where say ye from?

Joshua Barnett

------------------
Joshua Barnett
caddisfly08@yahoo.com
1-706-354-8500

Call me for all your flies!

c21broker
01-15-04, 09:13 PM
John;

I am originally from Arkansas but I have lived in East Cobb since 1966. I really want to learn to fish for trout, but it seems to have a language all it's own.

I have fished and hunted all of my life and learned all I know about both from my dad, but there were not many trout streams in South Arkansas...

I have a Real Estate office in Cherokee county and have been in Real Estate since 1971. I have been here a long time to just start looking to fish the "hootch", but I guess now is as good as any time.

Thanks for the welcome!

c21broker
01-15-04, 09:15 PM