Skunked again/BWO hatch/Cochran Shoals 12/15

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Skunked again/BWO hatch/Cochran Shoals 12/15

Made it out today for a few hours before sunset today at Cochran Shoals. Unfortunately I had it all to myself so I didn't even have anyone to spy on. There is a ton of water there and I fished a ton of fast and slow runs and pools and pockets but couldn't entice a strike today. Mostly fished nymphs under an indicator but tried a ill dry dropper late when I saw a huge hatch occur! Bugs everyone rising the surface as well as many spinners in the air. I'm no expert but I believe it was mainly BWO although there were also a ton of very small white "gnats" and a few large orange bugs I couldn't get a close look at. While all of this was going on I saw absolutely no fish rising or hitting on top so I mostly fished emergers but still no luck. While I was disappointed not to catch any fish it was cool to be out there and confirm and identify a hatch occurring even if it don't help me catch anything.

BWO?ImageUploadedByTapatalk1418696940.304597.jpg
    BWO?ImageUploadedByTapatalk1418696967.294477.jpg
    BWO?ImageUploadedByTapatalk1418696987.449647.jpg
    GnatsImageUploadedByTapatalk1418697004.568558.jpg
    If fishing is religion, Fly Fishing is high church.

-Tom Brokaw-

Sometimes hatches are a distraction. Match the Hatch and if that doesn't work change it up.

Comment

There was a nice BWO hatch upstream of there. I floated it for a bit an didn't get a bite. Also didn't see any risers.
      https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCos...FJBnHdCda3zhuQ

Comment

stocking this year?

Interesting...has Cochran Shoals been stocked this DH season? Anyone know?

Comment

Yes it was stocked at the beginning of the DH season

Comment

Originally posted by Buckheadflyfisher View Post
            Yes it was stocked at the beginning of the DH season