B dam h2o release effect?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• B dam h2o release effect?

Hey all, sorry for the total newb question and seriously apologetic if this question has been asked and answered a million times. I searched the hooch forum and the main forum, but couldn't see anything too specific about this topic.

I am curious if there are any resources that describe (in relatively good detail, I'm a scientist) the effects of Buford Dam water release on fishing at locations down stream in the upper hooch areas? I am particularly interested in how it effects Settles Bridge, because that's close to me, but also McGinnis, Jones, etc.

I know that the "waters will rise and are a danger to people on the river" - I now know the number to call and all that, but I am more curious about the effects on the actual fish, fishing, fish behavior, etc? If that data is available can anyone share please?

Thanks,
    SP

Generally we do extremely well just after a release.

My personal crackpot theory is that the increased levels of dissolved oxygen, especially during turnover, get them fired up.

I don't have any data to back that up though.
    I like em big fat and sloppy.

Comment

http://www.georgia-outdoors.com/foru...couring+effect

I found this when I used the term "scouring effect" as my search criteria.
      Gene

Comment

Good post Gbram, thanks for that reference.
        I ran into this lady one time in Wisconsin who worked with the "Hydropower Reform Coalition", and she was surprised to hear about the way the dam is utilized here in georgia (i.e. with the heavy releases followed by long non-activity). She would suggest some changes to that but I'm in no way qualified to discuss those really.
        I too would be interested to hear more and know more about all this.
        I'm not sure all the reasoning behind why we use the dam in the way we do, nor on the effects it has on the wildlife, but that scouring effect is interesting.