Helen Visit April 4-7

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Helen Visit April 4-7

I'm heading up to Helen April 4-7 with the family, and have received permission to do some fly fishing while there. I am a novice, and so far have only fished on the Hooch primarily at Jones Bridge. I am looking forward to getting on some of the small streams near Helen.

I have a reservation for Dukes Creek on Wed. (4/4) afternoon, and am thinking about trying to hit Smith Creek on Thursday, Friday or Saturday. Not having fished any of these creeks before, I am open to any and all tips and suggestions. I just read the instructions for Dukes, and need to find a local fly shop that sells barbless flies (just saw that requirement tonight). Does anyone know if the visitor center at Dukes sells barbless flies? Also, if anyone is up there and interested in showing a newby around, would be happy to connect.

Looking forward to my first outing this year!!

Stop by Unicoi and talk to them. Can't remember if they sell barbless flies, but they can show you how to make your flies barbless.

There is lots of good information about Dukes, stay low to the water and don't shadow the fish. Good luck.

Comment

If the water is clear, small flys and perfect drifts. Euro/tightline nymph if you can. 6X tippet. If it's got some color, big and buggy. You can mash your barbs. It's a pain but saves you money.

Comment

I think Unicoi has a selection of barbless. If not, as already mentioned you can mash the barbs. Use a pair of smooth jaw pliers and crimp the barb. Just make sure the hook will pass the "t shirt test." Stick the hook through a t shirt. If you can pull it back out without snagging, you're good. If it snags, mash again. Remember, no barbed flies in your possession. That includes flies in your hat, drying patch, ANY barbed flies.
        Good luck!

And don't forget about fishing the Hooch right through Helen. I've had many good days fishing in town.