First post and Brookies on fly

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First post and Brookies on fly

Thought Id share my story of my first brook trout with you guys for my first post. I owe Killer Kyle, WesMac and Prowler for helping me catch these fish. They were very helpful with tips and tricks to point me in the right direction. Ive been drooling over brook trout pictures on here for a couple months in anticipation of my birthday trip from the wife to head to North Georgia and camp for the weekend. I talked one of my fly fishing buddies into going with me so Id have a partner. Hes fairly new to fly fishing so I wasnt sure how hed react to such small tight streams but he adapted and had a great time. Although he wasnt able to land a speck he had many on, just wasnt able to keep one stuck. We got to our location and set up camp on Friday and had about 3 hours before dark so headed off to one stream I wasnt sure about. Found an awesome waterfall and soon after climbing it found a nice run that looked likely. Due to thick rhodos I was only able to bow and arrow cast which was a new technique to me. Managed to make a well placed cast under some branches and snag my first Brookie! All within an hour of fishing! I was extatic to say the least. Two photos from 2 different cameras for color. We fished a few more minutes and decided to head back down because it was getting dark quicker then we thought it would and still had to descend the falls. The next morning we decided to explore a different creek that supposedly had some specks atleast in the past. This creek was easier to navigate but had less elevation ris so we ended up fishing what seemed to be a lot of sub par water. Finally in a tiny plunge I found brookie number 2. It was a great fighter despite its size and managed to inhale my dry right out of the froth. I should mention I caught both brook trout on the brookie irresistible that Prowler listed in fly patterns. Despite fishing for another hour