Brook Trout

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brook Trout

I fished the Toccoa this past weekend (not in the DH section). More than half the fish I caught were Brook Trout. I don't have pictures because it was raining and I didn't take my phone with me. But they are beautiful and pretty good size too! Is there a reason for the Brook Trout suddenly showing up? Is this some type of new program by the DNR?

I've been fishing up there for about 3 years now and never caught a Brook Trout. I must have caught 20 this weekend.

Originally posted by doubleheadcrowe View Post
    I fished the Toccoa this past weekend (not in the DH section). More than half the fish I caught were Brook Trout. I don't have pictures because it was raining and I didn't take my phone with me. But they are beautiful and pretty good size too! Is there a reason for the Brook Trout suddenly showing up? Is this some type of new program by the DNR?

I've been fishing up there for about 3 years now and never caught a Brook Trout. I must have caught 20 this weekend.
    Depending on where you were, the fish were probably from the DH. Brook trout have a incredible habit of moving around once stocked. Ive caught fish in helen just a day or two after the smith creek DH is stocked with brookies. For an extreme exmple, a tiger trout was caught in allatoona from way up the Amicalola. Brook trout make like a missile (usually)

If you were fishing the tailwater, its likely that the state just put in some brookies during their normal stocking.
    Last edited by ferrulewax; 03-12-18, 05:02 PM.
    Jackson Dockery
    sigpic
    My Instagram
    Unicoi Outfitters

Comment

I've caught some stocked brooks in the Toccoa Tailwater from time to time. Seems like it's always early spring. I think the Rock Creek hatchery releases some in late winter/early spring.

Comment

Originally posted by buckman1 View Post