Point Fly (Tight Line)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Point Fly (Tight Line)

Where do you like to position your point fly or anchor? Most of the books and information I've read position the point fly at bottom and have a tag or dropper about 2 ft. above. Just so happens these authors mostly fish more open waters and slower to moderate flow creeks/rivers. The places I like to fish have very fast flows most of the time. I'm new to tight lining and i'm trying different things. What is your philosophy behind fly positioning, adding weight vs. changing flies, and just rigging whats on the end of your line to fish the waters here in ga? And when do you feel like its appropriate to fish just one fly vs multiple?

I am a fan of Kelly Galloup's drop shot nymphing rig. Not to be confused with a Euro nymph system which doesn't add any weight to the leader other than the flies. I'll fish smaller lightly weighted flies (small beadheads) in slower water sometimes with no added weight on the leader. As the flow become faster and deeper I'll may fish larger flies weighted with beadheads and lead wire. In addition split shot may be added to the bottom of the rig for added weight. This setup adds weight below the point fly. It helps to keep the flies in line which helps to keep them from tangling, and the weight added at the bottom may pop off when it gets hung saving re-rigging. Just remember to connect the split shot with smaller tippet than the flies. I've seen many times the only thing I lost in the system when it got hung was the split shot. I may fish dry flies alone, but never just one nymph.
    Almost forgot, I might throw a small tippet ring into that mix now days.

Image result for kelly galloup drop shot nymphing
    Last edited by Flyman NC; 03-04-19, 09:57 PM.
    "The secret of my influence has always been that it remained secret" -Salvador Dali

Comment