How often do you "Change it up"?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How often do you "Change it up"?

Curious to hear how often y'all change things up when wading. When what you are throwing isn't working do you change flies or location more often. I'm fairly new to this and notoriously lazy so once I'm rigged up and on a spot I usually stay there a while and don't switch flies until I have to. When I get hung up and break off or all knotted and tangled then I'll tie something else on and wear that spot out again. Then I will move on. I catch a few fish but not a lot so I wonder if and what I should be changing up and how quickly. Thanks for your input.

I'll move around quite a bit, but almost never change flies

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

I have had times when I have caught a couple of fish from a run,and they turn off. Change flies, color, size, and catch 2 or 3 more. Shut down, change flies, catch a few more. Other days I'll give a fly 5-10 casts in a run where I'm confident there are fish. If I don't catch something or get a hit in 10 casts or so, I'll change size, color, but stick with a pattern I have confidence in.

And there have been a very few days that I've changed to find something the fish wouldn't hit. It happens.
      BE DIFFERENT AND MAKE A DIFFERENCE! <

Exodus 29:18
      Then burn the entire ram on the altar. It is a burnt offering to the LORD, a pleasing aroma, a food offering presented to the LORD. God loves BBQ!

Comment

When I first was learning to fly fish I was told if nothing has tried to take your fly and your drifts were good for 15 minutes try a new fly. That has proven to be some very valuable advice. The second best advice I received is go small, GO small, and GO SMALL. This advice I have struggled with the over the years when by myself. I have two experiences that have changed me over the last 12 months.