Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Fly Fisherman Needs Gear

Hey everyone,

I am just starting out. I'm looking for a 3 or 4 weight rod and reel, primarily for occasional use in the mountains on medium and smaller sized water. I'm hoping someone has some entry-level gear they'd like to sell because they upgraded to something better or just don't use it any more.

Hey Mark, and welcome to NGTO. What kind of budget are you working with? I'm sure there are some outfits out here that will fit your needs, but we need to know a starting point.
    BE DIFFERENT AND MAKE A DIFFERENCE! <

Exodus 29:18
    Then burn the entire ram on the altar. It is a burnt offering to the LORD, a pleasing aroma, a food offering presented to the LORD. God loves BBQ!

Comment

Hey fishnpreacher! I'd love to find a quality used combo for 200 or so.

Comment

Originally posted by markwatson View Post
        Hey fishnpreacher! I'd love to find a quality used combo for 200 or so.
        I bought a TFO Rod with reel for under 200. With rod, reel line and backing with Tax was $250.00 at Bass Pro.

Comment

With a budget of $200, you are limited, but with the markets today, you have a whole lot more to choose from. If you want new, there are some combos out there under your budget, but they come with a lesser quality line. You will want to go with a better line eventually. TFO, Redington, and others have entry level outfits at reasonable prices.