NGTO Message Board
Welcome to NGTO!
Home ] [ Membership ] [ Donations ] [ Feedback ] [ Stream Reviews ] [ Stream Reports ] [ Maps ] [ Events ] [ Articles ] [ Rules and Regulations ] [ Archives ] Message Board ] FAQ ] [ Hall of Fame ] Sponsors & Supporters ] About ] [ Witticisms ] [ Distinguished Members ]
Welcome to NGTO!

Go Back   NGTO Message Board > Fishing Reports > Chattahoochee River
Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Photo Gallery Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-13-16, 08:57 AM   #1
splatek16
Native

Default B dam h2o release effect?

Hey all, sorry for the total newb question and seriously apologetic if this question has been asked and answered a million times. I searched the hooch forum and the main forum, but couldn't see anything too specific about this topic.

I am curious if there are any resources that describe (in relatively good detail, I'm a scientist) the effects of Buford Dam water release on fishing at locations down stream in the upper hooch areas? I am particularly interested in how it effects Settles Bridge, because that's close to me, but also McGinnis, Jones, etc.

I know that the "waters will rise and are a danger to people on the river" - I now know the number to call and all that, but I am more curious about the effects on the actual fish, fishing, fish behavior, etc? If that data is available can anyone share please?

Thanks,
SP
splatek16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-16, 09:53 AM   #2
browniez
NGTO Hall of Fame

Location: Chidspain Run, Delooth (Wells Fargo Call Center Interpretation)

Generally we do extremely well just after a release.

My personal crackpot theory is that the increased levels of dissolved oxygen, especially during turnover, get them fired up.

I don't have any data to back that up though.

It's hunting, not fishing.

Follow me on instagram @alexgreenfishing
browniez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-16, 09:54 AM   #3
GBram
Native